Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Global Connector Election Edition

 Global Connector Election Edition
 2013 Global Elections
2013 WASPY Awards
Upcoming Events

2013 OWASP International Global Board of Directors Election

The OWASP Foundation Board of Directors consists of six elected volunteers.  These unpaid volunteers dedicate themselves to the organizational mission and play a pivotal role in the software security community.  OWASP conducts democratic elections of its Board Members to enable bottom-up advancement of it's mission.

OWASP bylaws specify the board must be between 5 and 7 members.  Currently the OWASP board is 6 members.  The current board voted to extend the number to 7 members.  The 2013 election will now seat 4 spots instead of 3.  The newly elected board members will begin their terms Jan 1, 2014.  At this time we'll see the board officially expand to 7 members.

2013 Board Candidates

Please click a candidates name for their bio and "why me" statement

Abbas Naderi Afooshteh
Kelvin Arcelay
Ezendu Ariwa
Sergi Belokamen
Fabio Cerullo
Michael Coates
Bil Corry
Tobias Gondrom
Tahir Khan
Timur kHrotko
Martin Knobloch
Gregory Disney-Leugers
Jason Li
Yiannis Pavlosoglu
Ludovic Petit
Josh Sokol

Who Can Vote?

OWASP Paid Individual Members, Paid Corporate members (get one vote), and Honorary Members registered as of 30-September-2013 will all have one (1) vote per seat (there are four (4) seats up for election). 

Election Timeline

May 7 - Call for Candidates

August 11 - Call for Candidates, Reminder

August 16
- Deadline for Call for Candidates

August 22
- Candidates announced LIVE at AppSec EU 2013 as well as on all social media, in the connector and email to leaders list.

August 25
- Deadline for questions to be submitted for use during interviews:  
2013 Election Questions

September 6
- Deadline for recordings to be completed

September 30
- Paid & Honorary membership application deadline:  
Honorary Membership Self Nomination Form

October 9
- Q & A Webinar

October 14
- Voting Begins

October 25
- Voting ends

October 29
- Election result announcement

For more information, historical data, links to announcements, and membership information, please visit the 2013 Global Election Page

The Membership Deadline to participate in the 2013 Global Board Election AND the 2013 WASPY awards is September 30, 2013.  Please visit the Membership Page to get information on how to renew or how to join.

Web Application Security People of the Year Awards 2013

Every year a group of individual including researchers, developers, security professionals and others work to ensure the security of web applications.  Some of these individuals are featured in news stories or at conferences as recognized experts.  But there are many other 'unsung heroes' that work every day to improve web application security and yet are rarely recognized.

With the support of sponsors, OWASP is able to provide a platform for peer recognition.  2013 will recognize all participants and one winner in 5 different categories.  This years nominees are:

 Best Chapter Leader

David Hughes - Austin
Trenton Ivy - Milwaukee
Abbas Naderi - Iran
LA Chapeter Team - Tin Zaw, Richard Greenberg, Kelly FitzGerald, Stuary Schwartz, Edward Bonver
Jack Mannino - Northern Virginia
Jonathan Marcil - Montreal
Paul Scott - Houston
Dhruv Soi - India
John Wilander - Sweden

Best Project Leader

Simon Bennetts - ZAP
Roberto Merida (Epsylon "psy") - XSSer
Abbas Naderi - PHP Security Project
Andrew van der Stock - Developer Guide

Best Community Supporter

Fabio Cerullo
Jason Montgomery
John Montgomery

Best Mission Outreach

Fabio Cerullo
Martin Knobloch
John Wilander

Best Innovator

Tanoh Aka Marcellin
Abbas Naderi

Please Click Here to view each candidates nomination citation

WASPY award voting will be included on the Global Election Ballot in October

This recognition opportunity is completely funded by our generous sponsors.  To be part of this unique opportunity to support the community, please CLICK HERE  Projects and Chapters are also able to support this effort through donation of their chapter or project funds.  NOTE:  Sponsorship of this award will not affect the outcome.
new conf banner


Registration is now LIVE!  Click here to register and take advantage of early bird pricing.

AppSec USA 2013 - Simple Banner
OWASP AppSec USA 2013

Click Here for the full schedule of Talks and Training Classes


OWASP India Conference 2013 - Aug 30-31; New Delhi, India
Ghana Cyber Security - Sept 5-6
OWASP New Zealand Day 2013 - Sept 11-12; Auckland, New Zealand
LASCON 2013 - Oct 24-25, Austin, TX


OWASP Webinar Series


Register to participate in the OWASP Webinar Series.  This provides an opportunity to review some of the top security talks AND earn CPE credits!

 Wednesday September 11, 2013. 
LIVE - Ken Johnson
Rails Goat Project Webinar
RailsGoat project provides training for developers and security professionals - all specific to the Ruby on Rails framework

10am EDT (Live Webinar)
smaller register
at 9pm EDT (replay of the Live Webinar)
smaller register

Wednesday September 25, 2013. 
LIVE - Josh Sokol
SimpleRisk Webinar
SimpleRisk is an open source tool designed to help better manage and facilitate enterprise risk management.

10am EDT (Live Webinar)
smaller register
9pm EDT (replay of the Live Webinar)

smaller register

Wednesday October 9, 2013. 
LIVE - Global Board Candidate Question and Answers

Interactive question and answer format for the Global Foundation Board Candidates.  Facilitated by Kelly Santalucia

at 10am EDT
smaller registerand
9pm EDT
smaller register

Wednesday November 6, 2013. 
LIVE - Kiran Karnad
OWASP Top Ten & Burp
information and registration coming soon

We want to highlight projects and research!  If you have a topic that you would like to present, please submit an abstract here:  Contact us

new outreach banner

OWASP has partnered with these great events in the latter half of 2013 to grow our community and build awareness around software security.  If you want to learn more about OWASP's involvement or will be attending and want to participate, please


No comments: