Friday, November 13, 2015

November 2015 - Community News Flash


November 2015 Community News Flash In this Issue:
  • FEATURE: New Funding Rules and What They Mean For Chapters and Projects
  • ELECTION: Election Results: 2016 Global Board of Directors!
  • PROJECT UPDATES: Call for Project Reviewers
  • CHAPTER ACTIVITY: New Chapters, Leader Transitions
  • EVENTS: Upcoming Local and Regional Events
  • RESOURCES: List of Resources in this Issue
FEATURE: New Funding Rules and What They Mean For Chapters and Projects

The Global Board has voted on several proposals affecting funding rules for chapters and projects. A summary of the voting record is available on the wiki. The rule changes that may affect your activities are as follows:
  • Chapters and projects with more than a $5000 allocation as of October 1 are required to submit a budget for 2016 by December 1, 2015 (November 1 beginning in 2016 and thereafter). Affected leaders have already been notified.
     
  • All chapter accounts with less than $500 will be brought to $500 on Jan 1 as long as they have two active leaders.
     
  • Similarly, a $500 starting budget will be applied for projects newly reaching Lab Status. Projects newly reaching Flagship Status with an account balance less than $1000 will be brought to $1000. Both Lab and Flagship status projects will need to have at least two active leaders at that time.
Over the past week, Executive Director Paul Ritchie has reached out to leaders who have more than $5000 in their budgets and held a series of Go2Meeting sessions for Q&A. We will do a second series for those with allocations under $500. Any leader is welcome to join these calls.

We will review the original purpose & objective, then I'll talk about the tools & Timeline. I'm happy to take any and all questions.

Please join my Go-To-Meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/529205341

--  Thursday, Nov. 19  08:00 Pacific / 11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET
--  Monday, Nov. 23    09:00 Pacific / 12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET
--  Tuesday, Nov. 23   07:00 EST     /  Noon GMT / 21:00 JST / 17:30 IST

You can also dial in using your phone.
United States +1 (224) 501-3412
Access Code: 529-205-341

Please RSVP for the meeting that works best for your timezone.

See the results of several board proposals affecting funding for 2016: https://www.owasp.org/index.php/OWASP_Board_Votes#Voting_Records

You may check your account balance and funding history here:

Chapters:
Projects
ELECTION: Election Results: Global Board of Directors

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Global Board of Directors. Tom Brennan joins Tobias Gondrom, Michael Coates, and Josh Sokol who were elected for second terms. They join Matt Konda, Andrew van der Stock, and Jim Manico who each have another year of their terms left. Fabio Cerullo has finished his board term and is stepping down. We thank him for his service. Thanks as well to all nominees, Jonathan Carter, Abbas Naderi Afooshteh, Bil Corry, Nigel Phair, and Milton Smith for putting yourselves forward. The new board term begins on January 1, 2016.

You may view the complete 2015 Global Board Election Results on the OWASP wiki.
PROJECT UPDATES: Call for Project Reviewers

The Project Task Force needs your help with project reviews to graduate projects from Incubator to Lab, and from Lab to Flagship status. Please join in the efforts and participate in supporting the OWASP Foundation, Global Projects division.

The following are the OWASP Tool and Code Projects that require your expertise volunteer time:

Three OWASP Tool Projects for Graduation Review
One OWASP Code Project for Graduation Review

Please click on the links below if you are interested in adding your name to our list of reviewers.

Volunteer participation from the OWASP Community is critical to the growth and development of OWASP Projects since it provides an effective way to for project leaders to have their projects tested and validated based on the extensive professional advice and support of the OWASP community.

We have the following incentives for your help in kick starting our Project Review Call Out for Volunteers:

Amazon Gift Cards:
$5 for Any Incubator New Project
$15 for one Tool, Code, or Documentation Project Review
$30 for two Tool, Code, or Documentation Project Review
$40 for three Tool, Code or Documentation Project Review
$50 for four Tool, Code or Documentation Project Review
$60 for five Tool, Code or Documentation Project Review

Subscribe to our Project Task Force Google list.

Thank you in advance for your efforts and time.

Project Task Force

Initiative Leader:
Claudia Aviles-Casanovas
Project Coordinator
claudia.aviles-casanovas@owasp.org
Phone:973-288-1697

OWASP PodCasts created by Mark Miller offer a great forum for getting an update on projects. Listen to interviews with project leaders at https://soundcloud.com/owasp-podcast.
CHAPTER ACTIVITY

New Chapters
Chapter Restarts
New Leaders
New Academic Supporters
Notable Chapter Activity

The new Taguig has hit the ground running, having already concluded five-day Microsoft System Administration training conducted at Fort Bonifacio, Taguig City. The attendees were from Philippine Institute of Cyber Security Professionals, OWASP Manila and Cagayan Valley, TCON and Philippine Army personnel. OWASP Taguig Chapter organized the event for the members of the community.

OWASP Qatar's first meeting will be November 23 from 9am-1pm at the InterContinental Doha. Visit their wiki page for details.

If you are interested in starting or helping to restart a chapter that has gone inactive, please review the listings at the Volunteer Opportunities page of the wiki. If you are a current chapter leader and are having difficulty finding space, volunteers or funding to host a meeting, let me know. I can direct you to resources and funding to help you.

Also keep in mind you can view your Chapter's budget and available funds at the Donation Scoreboard:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/11acTOmtmBGq6-5CIGsjlEByU8POSGqda0r23VNnhEGQ/pub?hl=en_US&hl=en_US&output=html
EVENTS: Upcoming Local and Regional Events

OWASP AppSecEU 2016 in Rome: talks, trainings and sponsorships opportunities

We are beginning to contact all the possible speakers, trainers and sponsors for the next OWASP AppSecEU that will be held in Rome from 27th June to 1st July 2016. More than 800 attendees are expected at the event with 3 days of training followed by the 2-day conference that includes:
  • Five-talks in parallel with a focus on the core mission OWASP (Dev Ops Hack, CISO and Research);
  • Key notes of security experts;
  • Exhibition spaces that offer innovative solutions to the new needs of the companies.
You can now submit your training or talk!

Call for Training:
https://2016.appsec.eu/important-dates/call-for-training

Call for Presentation:
https://2016.appsec.eu/important-dates/call-for-papers

Sponsorship Document:
http://2016.appsec.eu/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/AppSecEU-2016-Rome-Sponsorship-Document.pdf

Regarding sponsorship, please let us know if you are interested in one of the options because we have already received several requests and we would like to sign all the contracts as soon as possible (within 31 Dec. 2015).

More Upcoming Events
RESOURCES

2015 Global Board of Directors Election
https://www.owasp.org/index.php/2015_Global_Board_of_Directors_Election

OWASP Tool Projects:
http://owasp.force.com/volunteers/GW_Volunteers__VolunteersJobListing?campaignid=701U0000000tflX

OWASP Code Project(s):
http://owasp.force.com/volunteers/GW_Volunteers__VolunteersJobListing?campaignid=701U0000000tfn4

Chapter Leader Handbook:
https://www.owasp.org/index.php/Chapter_Leader_Handbook

Funding Resources:
https://www.owasp.org/index.php/Funding

Donation Scoreboard - Current Chapter and Project Funding Allocations:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/u/2/d/11acTOmtmBGq6-5CIGsjlEByU8POSGqda0r23VNnhEGQ/pub?hl=en_US&hl=en_US&output=html

AppSecEU:
http://2016.appsec.eu
CONTACT ME

Feel free to contact me at any time if you have a question or suggestion. To create a trackable case, please use the contact us form at http://www.tfaforms.com/308703.

Noreen Whysel
Community Manager
OWASP Foundation
Community Manager Open Hours on Slack:

Join the #AsktheCM channel Tuesdays from 10am-Noon EDT.
https://owasp.slack.com/messages/askthecm/

CORRECTION: Deadline for 2016 budgets for chapters with more than $5,000 in their account was originally listed as November 1, 2015. Given the delay of the announcement, the deadline has been extended to December 1, 2015 for the 2016 budget. Subsequent years will have a November 1 deadline.

No comments: